Mask it Up!

You can’t go wrong with some beauty masks!

A few weeks ago, I was in Sephora and picked up some masks to try.  I got three by the Sephora brand (almond foot mask, $5; aloe vera hand mask, $6 ; and shea lip mask, $3).  I also picked up the I’m Real avocado mask sheet from the brand Tonymoly (1.50€), but it looks like that one isn’t available in the United States.

I think I’ll stick with mud and peel-off masks, but it was fun to try out some different products for a change, especially since my go-tos aren’t available in Spain.

20170421_231800

SEPHORA Almond Foot Mask

When I think of foot masks, I think more of a cream that you put on before bed and when you wake up in the morning, your feet are magically moisturized!  Needless to say, when you’re walking around everywhere, your feet get very, very tired.  I thought a foot mask might be exactly what my tired feet needed.

I was surprised, however, when I opened the package and saw that the mask wasn’t just a cream inside the package, but what appeared to be paper socks with the cream inside.  You pulled the tab on the side of the sock and tightened them to best fit your feet.  The package says to leave them on for 20 minutes, but I left mine on closer to 45 minutes.

I didn’t know what I was expecting when I took the socks off, but it was something along the lines of baby-smooth skin similar to when I leave the 24 hour moisture cream from Bath and Body Works on my feet overnight.

The cream itself was moisturizing, but it felt sticky once I started rubbing it into my feet as the package instructs.  I’m still not sure if it actually did anything for my skin or if I just feel like it did something because I went through the process of doing a foot mask.

SEPHORA Aloe Vera Hand Mask

Basically, the weather in Spain is very dry right now, so, like my feet, my hands have been extremely dry.  Inside the package are two paper gloves, again with the cream inside.   This one says to leave it on for 15 minutes, but, like before, I left mine on closer to 30 minutes.

After I did this mask, I started to think that the cream itself was just more of a sticky lotion rather than a smoother one.  I was left with the same tacky feeling as before, which kind of posed a problem as I needed to do some things on my computer.

The lotion did help a little with the cracking on my palms, but I’m starting to think it was just the fact I put lotion on my super dry skin.  I’m not convinced the “mask” actually did anything drastic enough.

SEPHORA Shea Lip Mask

I’ve seen a lot of YouTubers and other beauty bloggers trying out lip masks similar to this one.  I’d never tried it myself, so when I saw these hiding out in the Sephora mask section, I got very excited!

Unlike the hand and feet masks, I think this mask actually helped moisturize my lips and make them a bit more supple.  I did mine before bed, so it didn’t last into the next day, but I think if you were to do this mask in the morning while getting ready, it could really help soften your lips throughout the day.

Tonymoly I’m Real Mask Sheet

I like a good face mask, but I’m more of a jar or tube, peel-off mask girl.  I haven’t tried a lot of sheet masks to be able to compare them, but I can share a bit of my experience with this one.

I think the moisture is very nice.  I was drawn to this mask in particular because of the avocado element.  I’ve tried avocado masks in the past, and I know how deeply moisturizing they can be for the skin.

This mask appears to only be available in Europe, unfortunately, so that’s a minor drawback if you were to really fall in love with the formula.  Overall, I think it’s a nice mask for only being about $2.

 

Leave a Reply

